Subpages for Town Officials, Committees & Commissions:

Elected Officials

Candidates for elected positions must file nomination papers. If more than 2 candidates file papers, a primary election is held. To file nominations papers, complete the following documents: Campaign Registration Statement (PDF file), Declaration of Candidacy (PDF file), and Campaign Finance Report (PDF file). Town Board of Supervisors The legislative body of the Town is the Town Board which consists of a Chairperson and four Supervisors elected for overlapping two years terms. The Town of Dekorra through action at an Annual Meeting has adopted Village Powers. The powers and duties of the Town Board are provided by State Statutes 60.20 – 60.24. Refer to Ordinance 2.11 for Town Board Meeting Procedures. The Town Board generally meets the second  Tuesday of each month at the Town Hall starting at 6:30 pm.

Official Address Phone E-Mail Term Expires
Town Board Chairman, Kyle Knuteson W9600 County Road CS, Poynette, WI 53955 608-617-3670 04/21
Supervisor #1, Emma Brue W8994 Morse Rd, Poynette, WI 53955 608-843-6639  04/21
Supervisor #2, Chris Crawford W7981 Phillips Rd, Poynette, WI 53955 608-279-3938  04/21
Supervisor #3, Sandy Smith W8968 Bilkie Rd. Poynette, WI 53955 608-635-7836 04/20
Supervisor #4, Gary Leatherberry N3076 Smith Rd. Poynette, WI 53955  608-635-7574  04/20

Clerk, Treasurer, and Constable These are also elected officials. State Statute 60.33 lists the duties of the Clerk. State Statute 60.34 lists the duties of the Treasurer. State Statute 60.35 and Town Ordinance 2.01 list the duties and authority of the Constable. These officials attend Town Board meetings. The Constable attends Safety Committee meetings.

Official Address Phone E-Mail Term Expires
Clerk, Holly Priske W8460 Bilkie Rd. Poynette, WI 53955 608-635-2014 04/19
Treasurer, Peggy Tomlinson W8495 CTH VJ Poynette, WI 53955 608-635-2320 04/19
Constable, TBA  TBA 608-235-8027 TBA 04/21

  Utility District Board The Town of Dekorra has established a Utility District under the power given to it by State Statute 66.0827. The elected Town Board serves as the Commissioners of the Utility District. The board reviews operation of the district and establishes a budget and recommends to the Town Board if a need for additional assessments arise. The Utility District Board generally meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 5:30 pm at the Town Hall. Head of Emergency Government Services The Town Board appoints a head of emergency government services under the authority of Town Ordinance 2.04. The town board has designated the Town Chairperson to be the head of emergency government services. The town board has adopted an Emergency Response Plan. Board of Review The Board of Review (BOR) is established under the authority of State Statute 70.46 and its duties are governed by State Statute 70.47. By statute, the members of the BOR are the town board supervisors plus the town clerk. A simple majority of members constitutes a quorum. Under Town Ordinance 2.06, alternate BOR members may be appointed. The BOR is required to carefully examine the assessment roll prepared by the assessor and correct all apparent errors in description or computation, and add all omitted property. The BOR cannot raise or lower the assessment of any property except after hearing appeals brought before it. The BOR hears appeals as granted by State Statute 70.47 brought to it by those who disagree with the Assessor’s valuation. Appeals of property classification when it affects the assessed value may also be brought before the BOR. Written or oral notice of an intent to file an objection must be provided to the Board of Review’s clerk and the objection must be filed in writing with the Board of Review before being heard. Objection forms are available from the Town Clerk. The board of review meets annually at the Town Hall during the 30-day period beginning on the 2nd Monday of May, per public notice, at which time it may adjourn to a future date.